Create Account


Sparkle and Twang VII at The Bridge Building

Presented by at The Bridge Building

November 9, 2012


Sparkle and Twang VII at The Bridge Building

The Tennessee State Museum Foundation’s seventh annual Sparkle & Twang, an event benefiting the Foundation’s operating activities and celebrating the Museum’s Costume and Textile Institute and the institution’s Young Professionals Council, will be held at the historic Bridge Building at 2 Victory Way, Lot R in the Tennessee Titans Stadium parking area, Nashville. 

Active community volunteers Fletcher Foster and Big Kenny and Christiev Alphin are the Evening Co-chairs for the event.

This year’s evening, dubbed “Let Your Lovelight Shine,” will salute the four 2012 Costume & Textile Institute inductees, who include style trendsetter entertainer Big Kenny Alphin, fiber artist Arlyn Ende of Sewanee, costumer Katy K of Katy K’s Ranch Dressing in Nashville and Phillip Nappi, founder of Nashville’s celebrated custom bootmaker, Peter Nappi.

The primary focus of the Costume & Textile Institute is to recognize the fashion achievements of Tennessee-based designers and style trendsetters, while continuing to build and properly preserve the State Museum’s rich collection of historic and contemporary fashions. An additional highlight of the evening’s activities will be the introduction of the fourth class of the Tennessee State Museum Young Professionals Council (YPC). These outstanding young adults, representing their peers, ages 21-40, are selected based on their accomplishments in the business world and for their involvement with the museum, as well as other charitable organizations in Middle Tennessee. The Council’s mission is to assist the museum in preserving Tennessee’s priceless treasures, including the State Capitol, while promoting the museum and its efforts to a younger group of Middle Tennesseans, who will soon assume the leadership roles in philanthropic endeavors held by previous generations.

The 2012-2013 inductees are Ruth Huggins, Jen Lacey, Hilson Merrill, George Ritzen, Sara Rodriguez and Caroline Whittemore. They will join current YPC members: Dave Alexander III, Tori Tucker Alexander, Reen Locker Baskin, Chad Blackburn, Erin Brown, Joe Burchfield, Anna Catherine Davenport, Tunisha Hobson, Hugh Howser, Lyndsey Johnson, Katie Koban, Sutton Lipman, Olivia Sarratt McCarthy, Josh Parant, Dr. K. B. Parkes, Martin Penny, Megan Nordmann Rhodes, Whit Rhodes, Max Smith, Julie Solomon, Carlton McClendon (Cacky) Tate, Wil Trohanis, Will Tucker, C. Corum Webb, and Haden Wiley. Sara Jo Houghland, Director of Government Affairs and Public Relations at Comcast, is president of the YPC.

Sparkle &Twang VII guests will enjoy a viewing of objects created by the newest Costume Institute members, along with a cocktail reception with hors d’oeuvres, musical entertainment and a spectacular silent auction. Evening Co-chairs Big Kenny Alphin, one half of the country duo of Big & Rich, and his wife, Christiev Alphin, music industry stylist, and Foster, General Manager of Red Light Management’s Nashville office, are being assisted with Sparkle & Twang VII by Silent Auction Committee Chair Nancy Russell, longtime museum volunteer. Silent Auction Committee members are: Mary Nell Bryan, Kimberly Whaley Cooper, Deborah Danker, Emily Evans, Lynda Evjen, Camille Harlin, Nadine Korby, Rachel Odom and Suzanne Smothers.

Reservations will be accepted by mail through October 28 or by phone or email until November 4. All reservations will be held at the door. Tickets may also be purchased on the evening of Sparkle & Twang VII at the Bridge Building.

The Bridge Building

2 Victory Avenue
LP Field
Nashville, TN 37213

Full map and directions

Admission Info:

$80/person; $160/couple; $45/Young Professionals 21-40

General Day and Time Info:

Friday 8:00pm-11:00pm

Phone: (615) 741-2539

Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

Official Website

Connect with this Organization:
Facebook  | 

Facebook Comments

    • Join Our Mailing List


    © 2015 - The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee
    Contact Us I Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback