Epic Reads YA Meet-Up with FOUR Awesome YA Authors

Please note, this event has expired.

Presented by Parnassus Books at Parnassus Books, Nashville TN

Mar 15
Epic Reads YA Meet-Up with FOUR Awesome YA Authors

So many YA books … so little time. Parnassus Books and Epic Reads invites readers of all ages to join a roundtable event where you’ll get to strike up conversation with authors (SO MANY AUTHORS) who will gab about their books and other fan favorites. Small author dish sesh + killer YA books = a booklover’s dream, courtesy of Parnassus Books and Epic Reads.

Event Guidelines

Brittany Cavallaro / A Question of Holmes
In the explosive conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Charlotte Holmes series, Holmes and Watson think they’re finally in the clear after graduating from Sherringford … but danger awaits in the hallowed halls of Oxford.

Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson finally have a chance to start over. With all the freedom their pre-college summer program provides and no one on their tail, the only mystery they need to solve, once and for all, is what they are to each other. But upon their arrival at Oxford, Charlotte is immediately drawn into a new case: a series of accidents befell the theater program at Oxford last year, culminating in a young woman going missing on the night of a major performance. The mystery has gone unsolved; the case is cold. And no one—least of all the girl’s peculiar, close-knit group of friends—is talking.

When Watson and Holmes join the theater program, the “accidents” start anew, giving them no choice but to throw themselves into the case. But as the complicated lines of friendship, love, and loyalty blur, time is running out—and tragedy waits in the wings.

Brittany Cavallaro, author of the Charlotte Holmes series, is a poet, fiction writer, and old-school Sherlockian. She is the author of the poetry collection Girl-King and is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. She earned her BA in literature from Middlebury College and her MFA in poetry from the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Currently, she’s a PhD candidate in English literature at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee. She lives in Michigan with her husband, their dog and cat, and collection of deerstalker caps.

Katy Loutzenhiser / If You’re Out There
Part whip-smart suspense tale, part touching story of friendship, this is an extraordinary debut about a determined teen trying to solve a mystery no one else believes in.

After Zan’s best friend moves to California, she is baffled and crushed when Priya suddenly ghosts. Worse, Priya’s social media has turned into a stream of ungrammatical posts chronicling a sunny, vapid new life that doesn’t sound like her at all. Everyone tells Zan not to be an idiot: Let Priya do her reinvention thing and move on. But until Zan hears Priya say it, she won’t be able to admit that their friendship is finished. It’s only when she meets Logan, the compelling new guy in Spanish class, that Zan begins to open up about her sadness, her insecurity, her sense of total betrayal. And he’s just as willing as she is to throw himself into the investigation when everyone else thinks her suspicions are crazy.

Then a clue hidden in Priya’s latest selfie introduces a new, deeply disturbing possibility:

Maybe Priya isn’t just not answering Zan’s emails.

Maybe she can’t.

Katy Loutzenhiser is a graduate of Bowdoin who studied screenwriting and improv with Chicago’s prestigious Second City Training Center. If You’re Out There, inspired by real-life events, is her first novel. She lives in Brooklyn.

Justin A. Reynolds / Opposite of Always
Opposite of Always is a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving, perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling—hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind. Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

Justin A. Reynolds has been a pest control operator, night security guard, steel mill janitor, NASA intern, salesman of high-end faucet fixtures, and carpet-flooring installer. He was most recently a registered nurse, before trading his stethoscope for a pencil, but he likes to think both instruments reveal the heart. He lives in northeast Ohio, home to snow, Lake Erie, and the Cavaliers.

Rebecca Ross / The Queen’s Resistance
For fans of Red Queen and Grave Mercy comes The Queen’s Resistance, the captivating sequel to the Renaissance France-inspired epic fantasy The Queen’s Rising.

Brienna is a mistress of knowledge and is beginning to settle into her role as the daughter of the once disgraced lord, Davin MacQuinn. Though she’d just survived a revolution that will return a queen to the throne, she faces yet another challenge: acceptance by the MacQuinns. But as Queen Isolde Kavanagh’s closest confidant, she’ll have to balance serving her father’s House as well as her country.

Then there’s Aodhan Morgan, formerly known as Cartier Évariste, who is adjusting to the stark contrast between his pre-rebellion life in Valenia and his current one as lord of a fallen House. As he attempts to restore the Morgane name, he let his mind wander—what if he doesn’t have to raise his House alone? What if Brienna could stand by his side?

But Brienna and Cartier must put their feelings aside, as there are more vital tasks at hand—the Lannons’ trial, forging alliances, and ensuring that no one halts the queen’s coronation. Resistance is rumbling among the old regime’s supporters, who are desperate to find a weakness in the rebels’ forces.

And what makes one more vulnerable than love?

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband. She received her bachelor’s degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college. The Queen’s Rising was her debut novel.

Source: Parnassus Books

ADMISSION INFO

$19.65 +$2.83 FEE/Ticket

All tickets include ONE book of your choice, which can be autographed or personalized by the author at the event. Please purchase the ticket that reflects the book you would like your ticket to include. You are welcome to bring additional books from home!

Contact: (615) 953-2243

    Official Website

LOCATION

Parnassus Books

3900 Hillsboro Pike, Suite 14, Nashville, TN 37215
(Neighborhood: Green Hills)

Full map and directions

PARKING INFO

Parking Lot

CONNECT WITH Parnassus Books

    Email
/
    Website
/
    Facebook
/
    Twitter
/

BROUGHT TO YOU BY

 

MADE POSSIBLE BY

 

REGIONAL PARTNERS

Artsopolis Network Members: Akron OH | Austin TX | Birmingham AL | Boston MA | Cape Cod MA | Cincinnati OH | Cleveland OH | Colorado Springs CO | Columbia SC | DuPage County IL | Essex County MA | Flagstaff AZ | Flint MI | Fort Lauderdale FL | Indianapolis IN | Kalamazoo MI | Kansas City MO | Macon GA | Main Line Area PA | Marin County CA | Marquette County MI | Mendocino County CA | Milwaukee WI | Montgomery County MD | Napa Valley CA | Nashville TN | Orange County CA | Orlando FL | Panama City FL | Pittsburgh PA | Providence RI | Quito, Ecuador | Richardson TX | Rock Island IL | Sacramento CA | San Antonio TX | St. Cloud MN | St. Croix Valley MN/WI | St. Johns County FL | Stillwater MN | Tallahassee FL | Tampa Bay FL | Utah | Ventura CA | York County PA