There are no recent bookmarks.

Please Note: This event has expired.

Literary Award Gala

Presented by Nashville Public Library Foundation and Nashville Public Library at Nashville Public Library - Main Library, Nashville TN

Nov 14 2015
Literary Award Gala

The Nashville Public Library Literary Award was established in 2004 to recognize distinguished authors and other individuals for their contributions to the world of books and reading.  Proceeds from the Gala fund the multiple endeavors of the Nashville Public Library Foundation, including the preschool literacy program Bringing Books to Life!, several after-school programs for at-risk youth, and the Summer Concert Series.

Each year the award brings an outstanding individual to Nashville to honor his or her achievements, to benefit the library and to promote books, literacy and reading. Presented at the annual Gala, previous recipients are David Halberstam (2004), David McCullough (2005), John Updike (2006), Ann Patchett (2007), John Irving (2008), Doris Kearns Goodwin (2009), Billy Collins (2010), John McPhee (2011), Margaret Atwood (2012) ,Robert K. Massie (2013) and Scott Turow (2104).  The 2015 Literary Award winner will be announced in spring 2015.





    Official Website


Nashville Public Library - Main Library

615 Church Street, Nashville, TN 37219
(Neighborhood: Downtown)


Metro government is modernizing the parking garage adjacent to the Main Library. The project began late June 2016. Approximately 360 spaces will be added, and other improvements will be made to the garage. Seventy-five parking spaces are temporarily closed for the duration of construction. Project completion is expected in spring of 2018.

Due to the temporary parking space decrease and temporary lane closures, please allow extra time when planning to visit during peak hours or for special events.


    • Assisted Listening System
    • Braille
    • Wheelchair Access

CONNECT WITH Nashville Public Library Foundation