Belle Meade Plantation
Founded in 1807 by John Harding, “Belle Meade” translates to mean beautiful meadow in old English and French. The Belle Meade Plantation property began with just a single log cabin and 250 acres. The estate quickly grew to become a 5,400 acre thoroughbred horse farm complete with a Greek Revival Mansion, deer park, train station and rock quarry which supported five generations of owners, their servants and enslaved workers.
Today’s site functions as an educational resource dedicated to the preservation of Tennessee’s Victorian architecture, history and equestrian history. Visitors can enjoy tours, educational outreach programs, shopping, dining, wine tastings, weddings and other happenings knowing that their patronage supports the educational mission of Belle Meade Plantation.
Belle Meade Plantation is open daily 9am–5pm with Mansion tours starting every 30-45 minutes. The last tour is offered at 4pm. Mansion tours last approximately 45 minutes. Guests are advised to allow themselves at least two hours to enjoy the Belle Meade Plantation experience.
Belle Meade Plantation is closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day.
Source: Belle Meade Plantation